In: 0

Appendix VI of the Cotonou Agreement gives the following names: the Cotonou Agreement recognises the specific challenges faced by less developed countries, landlocked countries and islands in their economic development. As a result, these countries receive more favourable treatment than other OACPS Member States. The text of the Cotonou agreement was updated in 2005 and 2010, but not the lists, although the actual list of LDCs has changed within the meaning of the United Nations: Cabo Verde adopted LDC status in December 2007, while Senegal gained status in 2001 and East Timor in 2003. The following lists should therefore not be considered as the lists of amgno-PMA and OACPS islands (some islands are also not included). Many small island developing states are OACPS countries; the fourth Lomé Convention was revised in Mauritius in 1995 and pays particular attention to the island states in that convention. Uninhabited EU TEPOs do not participate in regional integration and do not receive EU development funds. In my first statement on behalf of the Caribbean at the opening of the ACP-EEC Conference on 28 July 1973, I indicated that the negotiations that followed must be imbued and repeated here. I said: in the meantime, the AKP has developed its unity mechanisms. I have already referred to the Ambassadors Committee in Brussels and the meetings of ACP ministers. All this was set up by the ad hoc secretariat of the ACP group, under the direction of an executive secretary, assisted by employees permanently based in Brussels and supplemented by a continuous flow of ACP technicians working closely with it. Nothing has done more to make the AKP a disciplined and united working group at all levels than this system of collective efforts focused on concerted goals. “The truly compelling lesson of this trip is the importance of pooling our resources: politically, economically and intellectually in negotiations with countries beyond ourselves: globally, in Europe, in the hemisphere. On Friday 20 March 2020, two OECD member states, Saint Kitts and Nevis and St Vincent and the Grenadines, also members of the 79-member group of African, Caribbean and Pacific States (ACP), recently signed the ratification of the revised Georgetown Convention.